Alliance Recognition and Awards

Frances M. Maitland Memorial Mentorship Lecture and Award

Each year at the Alliance Annual Conference, one Alliance member receives the Frances M. Maitland Memorial Mentorship Lecture and Award and shares their significant contributions to the field of CEhp, through the role of mentoring. The deadline to submit a nomination was Friday, September 15. If you have any questions about your nomination, please contact the Alliance Business Office at (202) 367-1151 or at

View the list of previous awardees

Annual Awardsawards.jpg

Members of the Alliance are committed to the goal of improving patient care through health profession education—and many are engaged in educational activities that are innovative and exemplify the best practices of the field.

These individuals and projects are worthy of recognition, and the Alliance acknowledges such excellence through the Alliance Awards, which will be presented during a ceremony at the 2018 Alliance Annual Conference at the Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL.

Below are the 2018 Awards categories accepting submissions. Should you have any questions or need clarification, please email

Award Categories

Competitive Awards:

Excellence in Educational Design
Recognizes initiatives which demonstrate excellence in integrating these and other educational design principles into the design of interventions resulting in improvements in healthcare provider performance and in patient or population health.

Webinar on Award for Excellence in Educational Design

William Campbell Felch Award for Research in CE
Recognizes the best research project in the CE arena.

Outstanding Innovation in CPD for the CE/CPD Professional and/or Enterprise
Recognize innovative activities and initiatives developed to benefit the CE/CPD professional and/or the profession.

Outstanding Educational Collaboration
Recognizes individuals and/or institutions for working jointly with others in an intellectual endeavor in the spirit of advancing the field of continuing education.

Outstanding CE Outcomes
Recognizes excellence in the design and implementation of outcomes assessment in CEhp.

Innovative Format
Recognizes outstanding innovation in the delivery format for a certified or non-certified continuing education activity that does not meet the definition of any of the other award category. 

Alliance Leadership
Recognize individuals who have demonstrated characteristics of leadership in the Alliance and the CE arena.

Recognition Awards:

Distinguished Member & Fellow Awards
Recognizing active participation in Alliance programs and events, these awards of distinction affirm Alliance members’ commitment to advancing the organization’s goals and objectives.

  • The Distinguished Member Award is given in recognition of active member involvement in and major service contribution to the Alliance. 
  • The Fellowship Award is given in recognition of outstanding and meritorious service, long-standing membership, and active participation with the Alliance.

Eligibility for these awards is based upon a numeric scale, where points are accumulated from a wide variety of member participation categories. A minimum of 30 points are required for the Distinguished Member Award, while 60 points are needed for the Fellow Award. Current Distinguished Members who seek the Fellow Award may apply 30 of their previously-qualified points toward eligibility for Alliance Fellow.

View the points calculator for more information.

Questions? Please email us at or call (202) 367-1151.